Office of Faculty Development Awards:

Due to a generous legacy faculty development grant in 2016 from Kaiser Permanente, the Office of Faculty Development is now able to send 1-2 faculty per year to the residential Harvard-Macy Program for Educators in Health Professions

Advances in the science of learning require health care educators to develop and practice new teaching skills consistent with the current knowledge of experiential learning theory. The goal of this Harvard Macy Institute Program is to provide a select group of participants with the knowledge base and skills to enhance their expertise in both conducting an educational project of their own design and taking a leadership role in the educational activities at their institutions. Offered Annually in Boston, MA Next Course: January 7-17 and May 14-18, 2018 Application Deadline: September 8, 2017.

Harvard-Macy Award 2017 Recipients:

Dexter L. Lee, Ph.D., FAHA
Associate Professor and
Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
Howard University College of Medicine
Martha I. Dávila-García, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and
Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Pharmacology
Howard University College of Medicine

Harvard-Macy Award 2016 Recipients:

Martha Davila-Garcia, Ph.D.
Howard University College of Medicine
Department of Pharmacology
Lekidelu Taddesse-Heath, M.D.
Anatomic and Clinical Pathology
Assistant Professor, Director of Hematology Lab and Surgical Pathologist

Starting in 2016 the Dean of the College of Medicine supports one annual Office of Faculty Development TRAVEL AWARD to promote educational research and foster scholarship in graduate and /or clinical medical education. Faculty may apply for a Travel Award for up to $2,500 to support innovations in teaching and learning activities that will lead to improvement in the delivery of graduate and/or clinical medical education.

 Offered annually by the OFD for travel anywhere within the contiguous USA; next application cycle will be the spring of 2018.

Travel Winners:

2016 Winner: Ghulam Abbas, MD Assistant Professor, Department of Community and Family Medicine

Attended Pain management Meeting, FL. Currently implementing pain management curriculum and simulation center workshop on injections for pain relief for medical students and residents.

2017 Winner: W. Malcolm Byrnes Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Attended the Association of Biochemistry Educators (ABE) meeting FL. Currently implementing new Team-Based Learning (TBL) exercises for the biochemistry portion of the Molecules and Cells Unit for the COM.

Congratulations to Dr. Janine Ziermann for winning the HUCOM Office of Faculty Development Travel Award.  She used the award to attend the 2018 Anatomage™ User Workshop and will use the knowledge she gained to incorporate the Anatomage™ table in her instruction of anatomy.  Dr. Ziermann is an Assistant Professor at the Howard University College of Medicine. She received her PhD in Germany studying the evolution and development of head muscles in larval amphibians.